SMPS/WTS Meet the Commissioners & Chief Engineers

    October 29, 2019
    7:30 AM - 10:15 AM
     Add to Calendar

    Courtyard by Marriott
    1000 Market Street
    Portsmouth, NH 03801
    Venue website

    Held in partnership with: 

    The Maine and New Hampshire Departments of Transportation are facing the challenge of maintaining and upgrading a safe transportation network while addressing rapidly changing state demographics and advancing technology. Join SMPS NNE, in partnership with WTS Maine, as four transportation leaders from Maine and New Hampshire participate in a panel discussion of how each state is addressing their transportation infrastructure needs.


    Assistant Commissioner & Chief Engineer William Cass, NHDOT:

    Bill Cass is the Assistant Commissioner and Chief Engineer for the New Hampshire Department of Transportation. Prior to his appointment in April of 2015, he served as the NHDOT's Director of Project Development for eight years and had previously served as the Assistant Director of Project Development for three years. Bill has 30 years of experience in various design and management capacities for NHDOT, including Chief of Preliminary Design, Chief Project Manager, and Project Manager for the I-93 reconstruction and widening project from Salem to Manchester.

    Commissioner Victoria Sheehan, NHDOT

    Sworn in as the Commissioner of the New Hampshire Department of Transportation on October 19, 2015, Victoria Sheehan oversees a $650 million state agency of over 1,600 employees dedicated to providing safe and efficient transportation systems. Ms. Sheehan brings both transportation engineering and management experience in projects and programs to her role as Commissioner. In her years as a dedicated public employee, she has worked as a resident engineer in bridge maintenance and as a project manager with a record of delivering contracts on-time and on-budget. She has extensive experience in asset and performance management.  

    Chief Engineer Joyce Taylor, P.E., MaineDOT

    Joyce Taylor is the chief engineer for the Maine Department of Transportation. She joined the department in 1999 and has risen through the ranks holding several key positions. Chief Engineer Taylor first worked in the construction division as its environmental engineer and held various positions, including Bureau Director of Project Development before becoming Chief Engineer in 2013. She has worked on various high-profile department projects, most recently heading the Sarah Mildred Long project between Maine and New Hampshire.

    Commissioner Bruce A. Van Note, MaineDOT:

    Commissioner Bruce A. Van Note is an engineering graduate, an attorney and a professional land surveyor. He has 25 years of professional transportation work experience in Maine, including 20 years at MaineDOT. His MaineDOT experience included 12 years as Deputy Commissioner, during which time he managed most aspects of the department. Most recently, he served as the Director of Policy and Planning at the Maine Turnpike Authority. Born in Houlton, Maine, Van Note now lives in Topsham with his wife, Susan. They have four adult sons.


    7:30-8:15am | Registration & Breakfast
    8:15-9:45am | Panel Presentation with Q&A
    9:45-10:15am | Networking

    Parking available on site.



    $55.00 SMPS NNE Member

    $55.00 WTS Member

    $55.00 SMPS Member (Outside NNE Chapter)

    $75.00 Not-Yet-a-Member

    $40.00 Government Employee

    $30.00 Student